Fresno Wage & Hour Lawyer
Fresno workers hold up the entire city economy, and they deserve to be paid the wages they have earned. Sadly, many employers cheat their workers out of their wages. This type of wage theft can take many forms, such as failing to pay the minimum wage, refusing overtime, or requiring work during meal breaks.
At Scott Wagner and Associates, P.A., our team holds employers accountable when they illegally withhold pay. Please contact one of our Fresno wage & hour lawyers to learn more about getting paid what you deserve.
Minimum Wage Violations
California’s minimum wage depends on the size of an employer. Those with 26 or more employees must pay $13.00 an hour, and those with fewer employees must pay $12.00. There are some exceptions to this law—but far fewer than you realize.
Tipped employees also must earn the minimum wage once tips are included with their hourly pay. If they don’t meet the minimum, then the employer must make up the difference.
Many employers unfortunately require employees to do work either before or after their shift has ended. For example, someone working in a coffee shop might need to restock shelves and stack chairs and tables after their shift is over.
This work can really add up. Even 10 minutes after every shift adds up to more than 3 hours of uncompensated labor every month. Workers are entitled to be paid when they do appreciable amounts of work.
Overtime is a right. If you work more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week, an employer should pay you time and half for the excess hours. California also requires time and half if you work seven straight days.
Even more, the state requires double your regular rate of pay when you work really long hours—more than 12 in a day or more than 8 on the seventh consecutive day. If an employee works 14 hours in a day, for example, then 8 are at the regular rate of pay, 4 are at time and a half, and 2 are at double pay.
Our labor laws exempt some employees from overtime, but employers often misunderstand these rules. For example, it simply isn’t true that salaried employees are always exempt. Instead, only salaried employees who work certain types of white-collar jobs are exempt, or workers who are specifically listed as exempt in the laws. Meet with a Fresno wage and hour attorney to review whether you are covered by the overtime regulations.
Denying Employees Required Breaks
The law mandates certain rest breaks. For example, employees are entitled to a half-hour meal break if they work five consecutive hours. Employees are also entitled to a ten-minute rest break every four hours.
The law requires that employers relieve workers of their duties during the break and penalizes employers for any violations.
Speak with a Fresno Wage & Hour Attorney Today
Workers are entitled to certain remedies when their rights are violated, but they would benefit from the help of an experienced lawyer. Contact Scott Wagner and Associates today to speak with a member of our team. We can discuss your chances of success and what compensation you are likely to receive.