Los Angeles Wage & Hour Lawyer
Federal and state wage and hour laws govern minimum employee pay rates, overtime pay requirements, and meal and rest breaks in Los Angeles workplaces. Employers are required to abide by wage and hour laws, and in the event of a violation, an employee may be eligible to file a claim. It is critical for employees and employers alike to understand rights and responsibilities and California state and federal wage and hour laws. If you have questions, one of our experienced Los Angeles wage & hour lawyers can assist you.
Federal and State Laws Governing Wage and Hour Disputes in Los Angeles, California
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the California Labor Code govern wage and hour requirements and disputes in Los Angeles workplaces. While the FLSA provides certain protections and guarantees to employees when it comes to minimum wage and overtime pay, California state law provides more protections and rights for Los Angeles workers. Accordingly, many wage and hour claims in Los Angeles are filed under California state law.
Los Angeles Minimum Wage Requirements
While the federal minimum wage is only $7.25, employers in California are required to abide by the state minimum wage requirements. In Los Angeles and throughout the state, the minimum wage is set at $12.00 per hour for employers that have 26 or more employees, and the minimum wage is set at $11.00 per hour for employers that have 25 or fewer employees.
California law does not permit employers to make deductions from an employee’s wages that would result in the employee being paid at a rate below the state minimum wage.
Right to Overtime Pay in Los Angeles
In Los Angeles workplaces, all non-exempt employees who work for an hourly wage must be paid at a rate of 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for any hours worked in a workweek beyond 40 hours, or beyond 8 hours in a workday. When California employees work more than 12 hours in a single workday, California law requires the employer to pay an overtime rate of 2 times the regular rate of pay.
Meal and Rest Breaks in the Los Angeles Workplace
While federal law does not require meal or rest breaks, California law provides more protections to employees in this regard. The California Labor Code requires employers to give at least a 30-minute meal break to employees who work for more than 5 hours (unless it is only a 6-hour shift). When an employee is on a meal break, the employer must relieve the employee of any and all workplace duties or must pay the employee for that time.
California, unlike federal law, also gives employees rest periods. Employees are entitled to 10-minute rest periods for every 4 hours of work. When an employer fails to provide a rest period or meal break, the employee must be compensated for an additional hour of pay for each workday in which the employee did not receive a meal break or a rest period.
Contact a Los Angeles Wage and Hour Law Attorney Today
When you have questions about wage and hour violations, or your rights or responsibilities under California state or federal law, you should get in touch with an experienced Los Angeles wage and hour attorney as soon as possible. One of the California employment lawyers at our firm can assess your situation today. Contact Scott Wagner and Associates, P.A. to learn more about the services we provide to employers and employees in Los Angeles.